Not remembering 'Drive Select' mode?

Faults and Technical chat for the Audi Q2
Post Reply
silus
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 9:55 am

Not remembering 'Drive Select' mode?

Post by silus » Mon Jun 05, 2017 9:31 am

Hi,
I notice that my Q2 often does not remember the Drive Select mode I have selected and is set to some other mode when I start the car. I have to go back in and reselect my custom mode frequently.

Is this normal behaviour or a fault?

thanks


CNC
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 4:47 pm
Location: West Wales

Re: Not remembering 'Drive Select' mode?

Post by CNC » Mon Jun 05, 2017 4:39 pm

I have the DSG Box, always drive in Comfort and it is always in that mode when I start up unless I change it, I do not think it is normal for the mode the change otherwise.
Q2, 1.4 S Line, S/Tronic, Ara blue with black wrapped vinyl blades, pan roof, Comfort and Tech packs, folding mirrors and heated seats.


silus
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 9:55 am

Re: Not remembering 'Drive Select' mode?

Post by silus » Wed Jun 28, 2017 8:14 am

I've been doing some research into this issue and it appears there is something to it.

The whole drive select mode doesn't reset but apparently the throttle response option will always reset to 'auto' regardless of the mode displayed when the car is restarted to allow for the engine to warm up.


OSL282
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 10:18 am
Location: Northumberland
Contact:

Re: Not remembering 'Drive Select' mode?

Post by OSL282 » Wed Jun 28, 2017 12:29 pm

silus wrote:
Wed Jun 28, 2017 8:14 am

The whole drive select mode doesn't reset but apparently the throttle response option will always reset to 'auto' regardless of the mode displayed when the car is restarted to allow for the engine to warm up.
Hmm not sure on that as my car has been in Eco mode for the past month and the 'E' always shows next to the gear the car is in on the dash display.
Audi Q2 1.4 TFSI Sport S Tronic in Tango Red


andreasmichael
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 1:42 pm

Re: Not remembering 'Drive Select' mode?

Post by andreasmichael » Fri Sep 01, 2017 8:03 am

I have an issue similar to this. Let me explain and please some tell me if I am paranoid. I select the efficiency mode in Audi drive select. The gears appear as E1 - E7. After i switch off and on the car it displays on the Virtual cockpit EFFICIENCY with green letters but the gears now appear as D1 - D7 and i also notice that it does not use the coasting mode anymore. So i have to press again the drive select (efficiency is selected already). Select another mode and then back the efficiency mode. Anyone else noticed this?


Footyste123
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:32 pm

Re: Not remembering 'Drive Select' mode?

Post by Footyste123 » Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:36 pm

I have exactly the same issue but do not have the virtual cockpit. Every time I switch the car off and on again the E gear has changed back to D and doesn't coast. I have to manually select it again every time. I also noticed that on the odd occasion it has selected a different drive mode. Has anyone taken this up with Audi. Is it a fault?


silus
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 9:55 am

Re: Not remembering 'Drive Select' mode?

Post by silus » Mon Feb 05, 2018 6:15 pm

Just a quick update as I’ve been having a back and forth with audi to get an answer to this which got escalated through several levels of Audi UK and I now finally have an official answer.

- yes the car does reset throttle response to ECO mode every time

- they acknowledge this happens despite what the MMI drive select screen says, so if you have it set to custom mode with dynamic throttle for example
It will still say it is in that mode but only the steering setting is how you left it. Throttle will be back in eco. Nor will you get the ‘E’ next to the gear when it has auto-reverted to eco. It is completely hidden.

- They acknowledge this little ‘feature’ is nowhere to be found in the manual, website, or anywhere you might look to find out

Their official response is that it is deliberate that you must deselect drive select mode every time if you want anything other than eco throttle response.

To be honest I am flabbergasted that they will sell an engine with a certain amount of power and yet it will not give you that power unless you select it every. Single. Time. Not only that but they don’t tell you about this anywhere, you have to find it out by pure luck playing about with the settings.

They left it saying ‘Audi Germany may or may not decide to do something about it’ and this would only likely be making it more clear on the MMI that the setting has reverted rather than allowing it to actually remember the setting you specify.

I suspect that defaulting to eco mode is how they get the co2 levels down to make the car more attractive. The fact they hide the car does this makes me think twice before getting another Audi again, what else is going on behind the scenes I just haven’t noticed yet :/

You can test this on your own vehicle. Set the car to dynamic mode, or a custom setting with dynamic throttle. Next time you start the car the throttle will be in eco, but press drive select and it will show the last mode you selected. Reselect that same mode and feel the boost.


kennyshane84
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 4:31 am

Re: Not remembering 'Drive Select' mode?

Post by kennyshane84 » Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:16 am

I'm sure we can do something about that in VCDS...


silus
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu May 11, 2017 9:55 am

Re: Not remembering 'Drive Select' mode?

Post by silus » Wed Mar 14, 2018 2:24 pm

Don’t know anything about vcds but if you find anything I can do to change it please let me know


imm22
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 2:11 pm

Re: Not remembering 'Drive Select' mode?

Post by imm22 » Fri Jun 15, 2018 2:29 pm

Just registered to say that is something I've noticed on my Audi A3 1.6Tdi (2017) Sport Stronic

After reading this I understand the lack of consistency of the driver Select. I have a theory about this "reset" for the dynamic throttle to D after an ignition cycle, despite the of the cockpit showing efficiency mode and the prefix for the gear number letter should be E instead of D as shown.

As stated by "silus" this could and should be some kind of safety feature, but I don't agree that is something related with CO2 levels, but with the particle filter (at least on the diesel, don't know if you all have Diesel engines), very low revolutions on a cold engine generates higher level of particles on the exhaust gas circuit, forcing the engine to work harder, (more revs and no coasting) leads to a steeper increase on the temperature of the engine (oils and gases), activating the particle burning process in a short therm.

Of course this could be managed by the car computer. He knows that the car is cold and could work on specific regime until the car reaches the optimal temperature, and then, automatically go to the Drive Select chosen by the driver.

Sorry for my English, I hope you understand me


Post Reply

Return to “Faults & Technical”